• Many European travellers claim that Bulgaria is Eden of Earth.
  • Bulgaria is a country in Southeastern Europe and is situated on the Balkan Peninsula. To the north the country borders Rumania, to the east – the Black Sea, to the south – Turkey and Greece and to the west – Yugolsavia and Macedonia.
  • The Republic of Bulgaria covers a territory of 110 993 square kilometers.
  • The last census (in 2001) showed that 7 973 673 people live in Bulgaria.
  • The Bulgarians use the Cyrillic alphabet.
  • The National Holiday of the Republic of Bulgaria is the 3 rd of March – The Day of  Liberation from Ottoman rule.
  • Nine National sites are included in UNESCO List of World Cultural and Nature Heritage.
  • The official monatery unit in the Republic of Bulgaria iscalled the LEV.
  • The Leva in Bulgaria are of emissions not earlier than 1999. The Bulgarian paper notes comprise the following denominations:
    1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100 Leva
  • The following coins are in circulation:
    made of yellow metal: 1, 2, 5  stotinki
    made of white metal: 10, 20, 50 stotinki  
  • Key Telephone Numbers: Ambulance 150, Fire Brigade 160, Police 166